Other corporations. The federal government has established or assisted in the establishment of a number of corporations in which it holds a portion of the equity. In most cases, private sector investors hold the remaining shares; in several cases shares are held by provincial or other governments. These corporations, known as mixed enterprises, have been established either by a special act of Parliament, for example, the Canada Development Corporation or Telesat Canada, or by letters patent or articles of incorporation, for example, Panarctic Oils Ltd. Such corporations are not listed in the schedules of the Financial Administration Act and are not subject to its general provisions.

In May 1977, Treasury Board's secretariat tabled before the public accounts committee a list of all corporations owned or controlled by the Government of Canada. The list included 53 corporations that are given in Schedule B, C or D of the Financial Administration Act (12 Bs, 19 Cs, 22 Ds), 27 corporations wholly owned by the Government of Canada, yet not listed in any schedule, 24 mixed enterprises, 152 subsidiaries and their subsidiaries, 93 associated corporations and 17 other corporate entities for a total of 366 corporations owned or controlled by the federal government.

An alphabetical list of federal ministers and the departments and other agencies for which they report to Parliament follows (as in effect in May 1978). Brief descriptions of the functions of many of these government organizations and related agencies will be found in Appendix 1. The accompanying organization chart illustrates the federal structure to the departmental level.

Minister of Agriculture

Department of Agriculture Agricultural Products Board Agricultural Stabilization Board Canadian Dairy Commission Canadian Grain Commission Canadian Livestock Feed Board Crop Insurance Administration Farm Credit Corporation National Farm Products Marketing Council

Minister of Communications Department of Communications Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

Teleglobe Canada

Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs Department of Consumer and Corporate Affairs Canadian Consumer Council Copyright Appeal Board Patent Appeal Board Restrictive Trade Practices Commission

Minister of Employment and Immigration Department of Employment and Immigration Canada Employment and Immigration Advisory Council Canada Employment and Immigration Commission Immigration Appeal Board

Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources Department of Energy, Mines and Resources Atomic Energy Control Board Atomic Energy of Canada Limited Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names Columbia River Treaty Permanent Engineering Board Eldorado Aviation Limited Eldorado Nuclear Limited Energy Supplies Allocation Board Interprovincial and Territorial Boundary Commissions National Energy Board Oil and Gas Committee Petro-Canada Uranium Canada Limited

Secretary of State for External Affairs Department of External Affairs Canadian International Development Agency Foreign Claims Commission International Boundary Commission International Development Research Centre International Joint Commission Roosevelt Campobello International Park Commission

Minister of State for Federal-Provincial Relations Federal-Provincial Relations Office

Minister of Finance Department of Finance Anti-dumping Tribunal Bank of Canada Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation Department of Insurance Tariff Board Anti-Inflation Board

Minister of Fisheries and the Environment Department of the Environment Canadian Saltfish Corporation